Lowery Family Announcement

It is not uncommon for expat families to move to China and consider the possibility of adoption.  After all, there are thousands waiting to find loving homes.  That is why our family is stepping up to the plate and doing our part to give a forever home to those in need.  We are proud to announce two new additions to the Lowery Family household!
 Our handsome new friends
Mr. Li overheard a conversation between Laura and I about how I have been wanting a pet cricket, and it turns out his father is quite the cricket connoisseur.  They range in price from about 90¢ U.S. upwards of $100.  The most expensive, of course, are the ones sought after for cricket fighting which is a common pastime in China.  The next time I saw him, Mr. Li brought me two beautiful cricket specimens in their sweet little woven bamboo containers along with a small bag of raw edamame with which to feed them.
The arrival we've been waiting for! Makeshift tupperware cages

Thinking up hypothetical pet names is kind of a hobby of mine (along with collecting safety cards from the seat back pockets of airplanes).  I cringe when a pet is named something along the lines of “Jake” or “Mittens” (I realize I am probably offending some friends here, sorry!) and yet find a traditional name such as “Fluffy” to be spot on for a cricket.  The Professor (remember him?) at one point had a full name, not just a title.  Something along the lines of Professor Von Cat the Third, but we have long since just casually called him The Professor (“The” is capitalized–we are not THAT casual).  We chose to name one of our new pets Mr. Li, in honor of our friend, and I am egotistically naming the other one Elizabeth Jr. with reason.  First, this thing pigs out…like me!  Second, when I was transferring him into a new cage he bit me.  Repeat:  I was bitten by a cricket.  Feisty.  I like that kind of moxie in an insect and I am proud to bestow my namesake onto a future generation of hellions.  Crickets only live a few months so I will get plenty of opportunities to try out new names.

Anyway, keeping pet crickets is an ancient Chinese tradition and I find them charming and fascinating.  They are easy to care for, don’t make a mess and stay contained.  The kids get so excited to see them up close and Charlotte, channeling her inner Jewish girl, calls them “bubbies” instead of “buggies.”  Orion, bless him, gave them a book to read.  AND turns the page for them.

Elizabeth Jr. looks just like me!

Elizabeth Jr. looks just like me!

11 thoughts on “Lowery Family Announcement

  1. Enjoyed the Cricket blog. I don’t know if you have noticed my collection of cricket cages in the den, but it was fun looking for them in flea markets and they are easy to pack in a suitcase. I even have a double decker one. I hate to see anything caged so I celebrate their emptiness. Same for bird cages. China has wonderful bird cages. Hugs for you all. Pat

  2. WOW! Adopting pets? Do you have papers? as in authenticating their blood lines? Or as in bringing them through customs without visas and the appropriate papers? It’s got to be great fun for the kids, as our three kids raised snakes, red eyed lab rats, rabbits, gerbels, fish, etc. Trust all are well. Pax, Bill

Leave a comment