Shanghai Museum of Public Security

I woke up this morning to the food scandal du jour in Shanghai.  Apparently Wal-Mart has been switching five spice donkey meat with fox meat instead.  The nerve!  In the spectrum of gross (to Western sensibilities) meat options, wouldn’t you actually prefer fox to donkey?  It sounds much more luxurious if you ask me.  I’ve said it once and I will say it again;  I am so glad to be a vegetarian!

The first few days after returning from our trip the kids and I have mostly stayed at home to let them run around and stretch their legs on their own turf.  The trip was rough and they have certainly earned it.  Today I was itchy to roam so we chose a special outing for my little guy and headed to the Shanghai Museum of Public Security AKA The Police Museum AKA Little Boy’s Dream.  I always glow with pride on the inside when Mr. Li, a life-long Shanghai resident, tells me I find places that he didn’t even know exist in his city!

Upon arriving, the gruff looking officer at the door softened a bit when he waived us through without even paying the 8¥ entrance fee.  Maybe our appearance caught him off guard as we were the only visitors in the whole three floor museum during our time there.  It is a little off the beaten path but otherwise a great museum.  Everything is beautifully curated and the exhibits are just right to capture Orion’s imagination through the vehicles, weapons, surveillance equipment and uniforms on display.  Chinese-only signage forced us to use our imaginations on some things but that was part of the fun.  The only downside to the museum was the room containing gruesome photographs and weapons (think saws and dull meat cleavers) from crimes that were at least displayed quite high and required a bit of squinting to get a clear look at what was depicted.  Upon seeing the skull with scissors sticking out of it I rushed the kids away to look at the suddenly fascinating exhibit on police paperwork.

My favorite display was the hall exhibiting gifts from police departments around the world, in particular, of course, the United States.  Three walls held patches from each state and branches of their specialty forces.  I was proud to see a large patch contingency from Connecticut!  I could almost close my eyes and feel the yuppiness surrounding me.

IMG_9650

2 thoughts on “Shanghai Museum of Public Security

  1. Elizabeth, your story today was another great adventure…the descriptions and photos are wonderful! Thanks for sharing your life in beautiful China; Mr. Li sounds like a very dear gentleman. Love everything you write, and your humour, too. xoxo nancy

  2. Stay away from Wall Worts as their are the world’s largest welfare queen, as most of their employees receive Medicare, Foot Stamps, etc. as the majority of their employees are under paid; therefore living below poverty standards. About 80 % of Wall Worts employees work less than 30 hours a week; therefore no insurance nor health benefits. If Wall Worts were a nation, they’d be the 7th largest ‘country’ in the world! Thanks for listening to my daily rant. Pax, Bill Moldwin

Leave a Reply

